Connect with us


11 lawmakers dump PDP, APGA for APC in Anambra



Ahead of the November 6 governorship election in Anambra State, Eleven lawmakers in the state have defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), from the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The defectors included five serving and four former House of Representatives members, as well as, two members of the State House of Assembly.

They were all received on Thursday by the Chairman, APC Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, Mai Mala Buni.

The development was disclosed in a statement issued to newsmen by Mamman Mohammed, Director-General Press and Media Affairs to Governor Buni.

In the statement, Gov. Buni congratulated the new members, saying they made the right decision by joining the National Party and bringing their people to the national movement.

READ ALSO: APC, PDP, APGA not qualified to contest Anambra election – ADC

“You have taken the right decision at the right time. You will enjoy all the rights and privileges of the party,” Buni assured.

The defectors promised to deliver their constituencies to the party in the forthcoming Anambra governorship election.

The Speaker, House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila, Deputy Senate President Omo Agege, the Governors of Imo, Kogi, Kano, Jigawa and the Kebbi States were also present to receive the new members.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now