Connect with us


Abiru, Saheed secure APC tickets for Lagos bye-elections



The duo of Tokunbo Abiru and Obafemi Saheed on Thursday emerged as the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates for the October 31 bye-elections in Lagos-East Senatorial District and Kosofe ll State Constituency.

Abiru and Saheed’s candidatures were affirmed during the primary election held in Lagos.

The APC had earlier nominated the two candidates for the bye-election in the two areas.

The Chief Returning Officer, Ibrahim Masari, who announced the results of the exercise, said Abiru recorded 111,551 votes from the five local government areas in the district.

READ ALSO: INEC to hold bye-elections in Lagos October 31

The five LGAs are – Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Ikorodu, Kosofe and Somolu.

Saheed garnered 34,012 votes from the six wards in Kosofe Constituency II.

The two seats became vacant following the death of Senator Bayo Osinowo and Tunde Braimoh on June 15 and July 10 respectively.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now