Connect with us


Barca, Madrid in Super Club World Cup



el clasico in club world cup

There is a possibility of another El Clasico clashes outside the Spanish La Liga as Barcelona and Real Madrid will be among the 12 European representatives to contest the new Super Club World Cup by FIFA.

The first edition of FIFA’s proposal is due to take place in 2021 and consists of a 24-team competition held every four years, during the second half of June.

As a result, the competition is expected to take away the existing tournaments: the Club World Cup and the Confederations Cup.

The rest of the European clubs are: Bayern Munich, Ajax, Milan, Liverpool, Manchester United, Inter Milan, Juventus and Paris Saint-Germain, who are sure to participate, while the other two teams will come from a group formed by Manchester City, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Porto Benfica and Borussia Dortmund.

Besides the 12 teams from Europe, South America would be the most represented continent with four or five clubs, while Asia, Africa and North America would have two teams each. Oceania would have its representative play off against the fifth best-placed team in South America, with the host team completing the quota of 24.

In addition, the host nation will not have to be the country of the subsequent World Cup, as is the case with the Confederations Cup.

Ripples Nigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

5 × four =