Latest Politics Top Stories

BAYELSA 2019: APC in the lead as INEC announces results in 6 LGAs

The final announcement of the governorship election results in Bayelsa has begun and results from six of the eight Local Government Areas of the state have already been announced.

A total of 45 parties contested in the election held on Saturday. However, major contenders are All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, David Lyon, and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Duoye Diri.

In the results announced thus far at the collation centre in Yenagoa, APC’s Lyon is in the lead. He won in four of the six local governments announced while the PDP candidate won in the other two.

The results as announced by INEC below:

Ogbia LGA:

APC – 58,016

PDP – 13,763

Yenagoa LGA:

APC – 24,607

PDP – 19,184

Brass LGA:

APC – 23, 831

PDP –10, 410

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA:

APC – 8,934

PDP – 15,360

Nembe LGA:

APC – 83, 041

PDP – 874

Sagbama LGA:

APC – 7,831

PDP – 60,339

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */