Bayern emerge Bundesliga champions for 7th consecutive time

Bayern Munich have been crowned champions of the German Bundesliga after defeating Eintracht Frankfurt on the final day of the season.

The champions needed just one point to retain the title, but were clinical enough to see off Frankfurt 5-1 at the Allianz Stadium.

Kingsley Coman opened the scoring in a thrilling first half before Sebastien Haller equalised minutes into the second half.

Goals started flowing as David Alaba, Renato Sanches, Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben made sure of Bayern’s victory.

Read Also: ‘See how beautiful my babe is’ – Wilfred Ndidi flaunts girlfriend in new video

With the win, Bayern finished two points ahead of Borussia Dortmund, who won 2-0 at Borussia Monchengladbach thanks to goals from England winger Jadon Sancho and Marco Reus.

Dortmund spent 174 days at the top of the table – including the winter break – while Bayern Munich were at the summit for 91.

They needed to win at Monchengladbach and hope that Bayern lose, but ended up in second place.

Bayern have now won 29 Bundesliga titles.

Meanwhile, Ribery and Robben have now ended their stay at the club.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!