Connect with us


Behold my new ministers, GEJ to Senate



President Goodluck Jonathan on Tuesday sent the names of eight ministerial nominees to the Senate for screening and approval.

The names, which were read out by Senate President David Mark, included Senator Musiliu Obanikoro from Lagos state, Mrs. Patricia Akwashiki (Nasarawa) and Mrs. Hauwa’u Lawan (Jigawa).

Others are, Prof Nicholas Akise Ada (Benue); Col. Augustine Akobundu retd. (Abia); Mr. Fidelis Nwankwo (Ebonyi); Mr. Kenneth Kobani (Rivers) and Senator Joel Ikenya (Taraba).

The Senate is yet to fix a date for the screening.

In October last year, seven portfolios became vacant as some ministers resigned in pursuit of their political ambitions.

The ministers were Labaran Maku, (information); Samuel Ortom, (Trade and Industry); Nyesom Wike, (State for Education); Musiliu Obanikoro, (State for Defence), Emeka Wogu, (Labour); Onyebuchi Chukwu, (Health) and Dairus Ishaku, (State for Niger Delta).

However, only Musiliu Obanikoro, who lost the gubernatorial ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos to Jimi Agbaje, made the list of new nominees.

Wike was the only one among the former ministers, who was able to win a ticket to contest the forthcoming elections. He is the candidate PDP in Rivers State. Ortom defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), where he is the party’s flag bearer in Benue, while Maku is the gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in Nasarawa.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now