Connect with us


BORDER WALL: 16 US states slam Trump with lawsuit for invoking emergency powers



Trump issues orders to Mexico over protesting asylum seekers

The move by President Donald Trump to invoke emergency powers in his bid to get funds to help erect US-Mexico border wall which costs $5.7bn to build has forced 16 US states to slam him (Trump) with a lawsuit.

Trump’s national emergency declaration to fund his promised wall has forced the hand of the 16 states which filed as suit in US District Court for the Northern District of California on Monday.

In a statement, California Attorney General Xavier Becerra said the lawsuit alleges the Trump administration’s action violates the Constitution.

Read also: US House Chairman wants Mueller to probe Trump’s Deutsche Bank link

“President Trump treats the rule of law with utter contempt,” Becerra said. “He knows there is no border crisis, he knows his emergency declaration is unwarranted, and he admits that he will likely lose this case in court.”

Joining California in filing the lawsuit against the Republican president’s administration are the attorneys general of Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, and Virginia.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now