CAF appoints Ifeanyi Ubah into AFCON committee | Ripples Nigeria
Connect with us


CAF appoints Ifeanyi Ubah into AFCON committee



ifeanyi ubah

Dr. Ifeanyi Ubah, the proprietor of IfeanyiUbah FC, has been appointed member of the Organizing Committee for the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) by the Emergency Committee of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) made this known on their official website on Tuesday.

The AFCON, which started as a three-team tournament in 1957, is CAF’s flagship championship, and will blossom into a one-month, 24-team tournament beginning from next year’s edition in Cameroon.

Ubah now joins the growing list of Nigerians who are currently serving in different committees in the continent’s football ruling body.

Speaking on the appointment, NFF president, Amaju Pinnick expressed his confidence that Ubah will not disappoint.

“Nigeria is very happy with this appointment. It is a big plus for private football club owners in our country. Chief (Dr) Ifeanyi Ubah has done very well over the years and he very much deserves this appointment.

Read Also: ‘More than a game’ – Iwobi relishes Arsenal’s 5-0 win, hails Wenger

“I am of the belief that he will justify the confidence reposed in him and bring his wealth of experience to bear in serving the committee,” Pinnick, who is a Member of the CAF Emergency Committee and is also President of the AFCON Organizing Committee on which Ubah will serve, said.

Nigerians in FIFA:
Mr. Amaju Pinnick (Member, Organizing Committee for FIFA Competitions)
Justice Ayotunde Phillips (Member, FIFA Disciplinary Committee, Adjudicatory Chamber)
Mallam Shehu Dikko (Member, FIFA Football Stakeholders Committee)

Nigerians in CAF:
Mr. Amaju Pinnick (Member, CAF Executive Committee; Member, CAF Emergency Committee; President, AFCON)
Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi (Member, CAF Youth Competitions Committee)
Mallam Shehu Dikko (Member, CAF Club Competitions and Club Licensing System Committee)
Alh. Ibrahim Musa Gusau (Member, CHAN Organizing Committee)
Alh. Yusuf Ahmed Fresh (Member, Technical and Development Committee)
Chief Obinna Ogba (Member, CAF Beach Soccer and Futsal Committee)
Dr. Peter Singabele (Member, CAF Medical Committee)
Chief (Dr) Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah (Member, AFCON Organizing Committee)
A. U. Mustapha, SAN (President, CAF Appeal Board)
Mrs Chisom Ezeoke (Member, CAF Women Football Committee)
Mr. Samson Adamu (Director of Competitions)

Ripples Nigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation