Connect with us


Champions! Feyenoord win first Dutch title in 18 years



Champions! Feyenoord win first Dutch title in 18 years

Dutch giants Feyenoord have won the Dutch league title on Sunday after veteran striker and team captain Dirk Kuyt scored a hat-trick in a 3-1 home win over Heracles Almelo.

The result left the champions one-point clear of arch rivals Ajax Amsterdam, who also won 3-1 away to Willem II in the last day of the Eredivisie season.

Ajax manager Peter Bosz fielded the youngest starting XI in Eredivisie history for the game, with an average age of 20 years and 139 days.

Captain Davy Klaassen, at the age of 24, was the only player over 21 starting. But goals from Kasper Dolberg, Davinson Sanchez and Klaassen proved to be in vain for their title hopes.

Read Also: PORTUGAL: Benfica win 4th consecutive league title

But Kuyt’s hat-trick helped Feyenoord lift the title they last won in 1999.

The club’s 36-year-old captain, scored after 40 seconds to set the Rotterdam side on their way to the win. He doubled their lead 12 minutes later, and made it three on 84 minutes with a penalty before Peter van Ooijen’s consolation five minutes later.

Meanwhile, Feyenoord could have sealed the title last weekend, but fell to a shock 3-0 defeat at mid-table Rotterdam rivals Excelsior, who used to be their feeder club.

They topped the league for the entire season, the first team to achieve that since Ajax in 1997-98.







RipplesNigeria ….without borders, without fears

Click here to download the Ripples Nigeria App for latest updates

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now