Latest Politics

Don’t expect refund of money, Oshomhole warns Kogi governorship aspirants, others

Court halts APC's plan to hold indirect primary in Kogi

All Progressives Congress (APC) National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole on Thursday said the party would not refund money to aspirants who sought the party’s ticket for the governorship election in Kogi State but lost.

Oshiomhole said the party was not ready to change from its tradition by refunding money to aspirants who lost election.

He spoke with reporters after a meeting with the 16 aspirants who purchased the party’s nomination form to contest the primaries.

Meanwhile, the party’s NWC has named a three-man appeal committee for the primaries conducted in Kogi and Bayelsa States.

Kogi’s Indirect Primary Appeal Committee members include Senator Abdulahi Umar Yandoma (chairman), Hajia Amina Muhammed (secretary) and Tony McFoy (member).

Read also: APC guber aspirant, Aganaba brands Bayelsa primary a ‘scam’, says results were written in a hotel

Members of Bayelsa Direct Primary Appeal Committee are Shuaibu Aruwa (chairman), Edith Newman Amadi (secretary) and Abdul Malik El-Yakub (member).

Oshiomhole also reiterated that it was not the first time the party was conducting primaries and has a tradition, which has to be maintained.

Recall that 16 aspirants bought the nomination and expression of interest form at the cost of N22.5 million, seven of them were not cleared to participate in the exercise for various reasons. Nine others, including Governor Yahaya Bello, were cleared.
Bello won the governorship ticket of the party.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!