Dutch Champions! PSV seal league title with win over Ajax

Dutch Champions! PSV seal league title with win over Ajax
By Editor

PSV Eindhoven emerged winners of the 2017-18 Dutch Eredivisie title after securing a comfortable victory over nearest rivals Ajax – who had two players sent off on Sunday.

Gaston Pereiro put PSV ahead on 23 minutes before Luuk de Jong headed home Joshua Brenet’s cross 15 minutes after to double the home side’s lead.

Steven Bergwijn’s half-volley in the second half then sealed the victory.

Read Also: Champions! Man City win Premier League title as Man Utd lose to West Brom

Ajax’s Nicolas Tagliafico was shown a second yellow and Siem de Jong was sent off for a bad foul.

With three games left to play this season, PSV won the league – their third in the past four league seasons – with Feyenoord, the deposed champions, down in fourth position.

PSV have now won the dutch title a total of 24 times – second only to Ajax who have won 33 times.

RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author


We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.