Connect with us


EFCC investigates foreigners involved in bunkering in Nigeria



EFCC investigates foreigners involved in bunkering in Nigeria

Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) said it had commenced investigation of some foreigners alongside other Nigerians who were allegedly involved in illegal oil bunkering in some parts of the country.

The Port Harcourt Zonal Office of the commission announced the development.

The suspects who were 58 in number and their vessels were handed over to the EFCC by the Nigerian Navy Ship (NNS) Pathfinder for further investigation and possible prosecution.

It was alleged that four vessels, one barge and two wooden boats were recovered from the suspects.

The suspects were reported to be on board the vessels when they were intercepted at different dates and locations in Port Harcourt, Rivers, for alleged illegal oil bunkering activities.

The vessels, MV Western Orient, MV Temile, AHT Ajemisan and AHT Jascon 23.

Read also: EFCC arrests, recovers items from suspected accomplice of fraudster on FBI list

Two wooden Boats were intercepted around Onne Anchorage while Barge Hannamarine was intercepted at Okorochiri Creek in Okrika, all in Rivers.

Taking over the suspects and the accompanying vessels, barge and wooden boats, Samuel Umezuirike of the EFCC assured the Nigerian Navy of further investigation and possible prosecution.

The suspects consisted of two foreigners and 56 Nigerians.

The names of the suspects were: Daniel Faviel Flores, a Mexican, Khrstoliubov Victor, a Ukranian, Umoh Emmanuel Etim, Aliu Dominic, Okwong Effiong Ukpong, Talick Uche Epuk, Okon Emmanuel Sunday. Others were, Ebenezer Marshal; Awuletey Okon, George Obomate, Johnbull Uroro, Alphonomsus Augustine Ufot, Jerome Adele-ekun, Mathew Jacob, Okoye Kachi Fred, Johnwill Austin Omubo, Utibe Peter George, Dickson Amadi, Uzi Chibueze Benard. Israel Essien, Job Wilfred, Emmanuel Joseph Ohwimu, Chinedu Nwachukwu Opara, Pascal Chinedu Nnaji, Okechukwu Chukwueke, Peter Ogar, Olatunji Julius Adedokun, Alabede Maruf Olakunle and Origbo Tekevwe Godwill. Evakpo David, Mbachu Kelvin Okechukwu, Nebeire Onyekachi Philip, Akanbi Oluwaseun Moses, Wonodi Chisom Wisdom, Prince Austine Anyor, Anjorin Rasheed Babatunde and Iffi Francis Chuka. The rest were: Tom Wisdom Udo; Fasina Isaac Kehinde, Edo Nsongurua, Cookey Fubara, Ayoka Joseph, Benson Nwaya, Akinfenwa Mike, Ahmed A Shehu, Okojie Favour Osahon, John Flash, Edward Modunwa, Eyione Alex. Onyeneke Wisdom Udoka, Nwokeke Wisdom Udoka; Nwokeke Michael S.U, Anyasi Joshua Ikechukwu, Edward Atorkemo Harrison, Ekpeno Benjamin, Rafi Nura Sani, Thompson Deezua and Edwin Ekpoto Omaretshogunwa.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

five × three =