Ekiti Assembly reinstates suspended ex-Speaker, 4 others

Ekiti Speaker impeached, 5 days to Fayemi's emergence as governor

The Ekiti House of Assembly has lifted the suspension placed on its former Speaker, Mr Kola Oluwawole and four other members of the Assembly suspended in October last year.

Others that were reinstated are former Deputy Speaker, Mr Segun Adewumi, Mr Abiola Jeje, (Ido/Osi 11), Mr Adesina Animasaun,(Ekiti West 11) and Mr Dare Pelemo (Ekiti East 11).

Read also: Presidential aide Onochie fires back at those calling for Buhari’s inauguration to be stopped

The lawmakers were reinstated at Wednesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Adeniran Alagbada.

The reinstatement of the affected members followed the adoption of the report of the Appeal Panel Committee chaired by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1).

The motion for the adoption of the report of the committee was moved by Aribisogan and seconded by Mr Sunday Akinniyi (Ikere 11).

Briefing newsmen shortly after plenary, Aribisogan, who is also the leader of the house, said the law makers reabsorbed the affected members because they had earlier written letters of apology and showed remorse.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */