Politics Top Stories

EKITI: INEC declares Fayemi winner

EKITI GOV POLL: Plan to disqualify Fayemi fails

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Kayode Fayemi as the winner of the Ekiti State governorship election held on Saturday.

Fayemi, a former governor of the state won in 12 out of the 16 local government areas of the state to defeat his closet rival, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, and incumbent deputy governor of the state, Kolapo Olusola Eleka.

INEC has officially announced results of the 16 local governments, but is still doing the final collation.

Fayemi secured 197,462 votes against Olusola’s 177,927 votes to emerge winner of the contest.

Making the formal declaration, the Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Idowu Olayinka, declared, “That John OluKayode Fayemi of APC having fulfilled requirements of the law and got the highest votes is the winner and is returned elected”.

Bellow are the results as announced by INEC:

1. Ilejemeje LG APC-4,156 PDP-3,937

2. Irepodun/Ifelodun LG APC-13,869 PDP-11,456

3. Ido OSI LG APC-12,342 PDP-11,145

4. Oye LG APC-14,995 PDP-11,071

5. Efon Alaye LG APC-5,028 PDP-5,192

6. Moba LG APC- 11,837 PDP- 8,520

7. Ijero LG APC-14,192 PDP-11,077

8. Gboyin APC – 11,498 PDP- 8,027

9. Emure LG APC – 7,048 PDP- 7,121

10. Ikere LG APC- 11,515 PDP- 17,183

11. Ekiti West LG APC- 12,648 PDP- 10,137

12. Ikole LG APC- 14,522 PDP- 13,961

13. Ise/Orun LG APC- 11,908 PDP- 6,297

14. Ekiti East APC- 12,778 PDP- 11,564

15. Ekiti Southwest LG APC- 11,015 PDP- 8,423

16. Ado LG APC- 28,111 PDP- 32,810

Total votes APC- 197,462 winner PDP- 177,927

READ ALSO: #EkitiDecides2018: Nigerian govt shuts down Ekiti Broadcast Service

The Saturday election had witnessed a large turnout of voters and early arrival of the ad hoc staff and supervisors of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at polling units.

While electoral materials arrived early and voters to a large extent conducted themselves well during accreditation process, there were however ugly incidences of ballot box snatching in some polling units and allegations of vote-buying involving the two major political parties, APC and the PDP.

A number of voters had claimed that the APC was offering N5,000 to voters to vote for the party while the PDP offered N3,000.

EKITI: INEC declares Fayemi winner


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author

Edirin Etaghene

Editor @Ripples Nigeria
Writer, Journalist, Activist. Interested in government policies that have direct impact on the lives of ordinary citizens.

/* ]]> */