Nigeria Decides 2019 Politics

EKITI: Two PDP Senators, Olujimi, Faseyi lose re-election bid

Senator Olujimi, Faseyi lose Senatorial to APC

The colouration of Nigeria’s new National Assembly may have began to take shape if early results from Ekiti on the Senatorial poll is anything to go by.

This is as two Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) senators– Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti North) and Duro Faseyi (Ekiti South) failed in their bid to return to the Senate. Both lost to the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates.

This was made known by the Returning Officer for Ekiti South Senatorial District, Prof Laide Lawal, who returned APC candidate, Prince Adedayo Adeyeye, with 77,621 votes to defeat his closest rival, Olujimi, of the PDP, who polled 53,741 votes.

Read also: PDP counsels Buhari, APC, says ‘accept the verdict of the election’

His colleague, the Returning Officer for Ekiti North Senatorial District, Prof Abayomi Sunday Fasina, also declared the APC candidate, Senator Olubunmi Adetumbi, the winner having polled 60,689 votes to defeat Faseyi, who got 49,209 votes.

The ruling party (APC) also dominated the House of Representatives election as its member, former Chief of Staff to Governor Kayode Fayemi, Mr Yemi Adaramodu, who scored 41,864 votes, beat Segun Adekola, representing Ekiti South 2 Federal Constituency, who secured 25,707 votes.

Also, for Ekiti North 2 Constituency, APC candidate, Olanrewaju Ibrahim, won the election, having scored 29,388 votes as against the 23,684 votes scored by PDP candidate, Olusola Omotoso.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!