Euro 2016: Rashford makes England squad

England manager Roy Hodgson has named Manchester United’s 18-year-old striker Marcus Rashford in an initial 26-man squad for Euro 2016.

Newcastle United winger Andros Townsend and Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere are also called up for the tournament in France, which starts on 10 June.

But there is no place for Arsenal’s Theo Walcott, Everton’s Phil Jagielka or West Ham’s Mark Noble.
The deadline for all 24 teams to submit their 23-man squads is May 31.

Rashford only broke into the United first team in the second half of the season but quickly became a firm fixture.
He scored four times in his first two appearances and has seven goals from 16 games since making his senior debut on 25 February.

Asked about Rashford’s chances of featuring in his final 23-man squad, Hodgson, 68, said: “The competition is quite strong, he’ll understand that.

“There’s no reason why he can’t knock someone off their perch, but it will be harder than some people might expect.”
Townsend, 24, ended the campaign strongly despite his club’s relegation from the Premier League.

“Huge honour to be named in provisional England squad,” tweeted Townsend, who joined Newcastle in a £12m from Tottenham in January.

“Will give my all over next few weeks to try and make final squad!”

Wilshere, 24, broke his leg in August and only made his first start of the season for Arsenal on Sunday.

Read also: Serena eases to glory in Rome

He tweeted: “Absolutely buzzing! I can’t wait to meet up with the squad and start preparing for the Euros. Thanks for all the messages.”

Responding to his omission, Walcott tweeted: “I am of course disappointed not to make the squad, but I have spoken with Roy and respect his decision.”

England will play Wales, Russia and Slovakia in the group stages of Euro 2016, which runs until 10 July.

They kick off their Group B campaign against Russia on 11 June, before facing Wales (16 June) and Slovakia (20 June).

England warm up for the tournament with matches against Turkey (22 May), Australia (27 May) and Portugal (2 June).

Hodgson said he would like to tell the 23 players who have made the final squad after the game against Australia.

Former England striker Gary Lineker said the 26-man squad contained “bags of talented youngsters”.

He tweeted: “Great experience for them. Give them their wings, take pressure off, have fun and see where it takes us.”


Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley).
Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle United), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Strikers: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United )

RipplesNigeria …without borders, without fears

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!