FIFA decides host of 2026 World Cup today

Gianni Infantino FIFA

World football governing body, FIFA will choose between Morocco and a joint North American bid to host the 2026 World Cup.

After the controversial award of the 2018 and 2022 tournaments to Russia and Qatar respectively, Fifa has promised a “more open and transparent” vote this time.

The two hundred and eleven (211) Fifa member nations – minus Canada, Mexico, Morocco and the US – will each cast a vote at their annual meeting today (Wednesday).

Read Also: RUSSIA 2018: Ten players to watch from Nigeria’s group foes

The members must pick between the United States-Canada-Mexico bid where all venues are ready, and a Moroccan bid that needs to build or renovate all 14 stadiums for a 48-team tournament.

Recall that Morocco has bidded four times, and four times the North Africans have been overlooked.

Meanwhile, Mexico has twice hosted the World Cup, in 1970 and 1986, while the United States hosted in 1994.

Ripples Nigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana