Connect with us


FIFA seeds Nigeria, Algeria, Cote d’ Ivoire for Russia 2018



In from Nifemi Daniel…

World football governing body, FIFA, seeded Nigeria, Algeria, Cote d’ Ivoire and 17 other African countries for the first and second qualifying rounds of the 2018 World Cup. The draws would hold on July 25 in Russian city of Saint Petersburg.

The 17 other countries are Ghana, Tunisia, Senegal, Cameroon, Egypt, DR Congo and South Africa.

The other teams in the top 20 are Congo, Cape Verde, Guinea, Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Uganda and Rwanda.

The first two rounds consist of home-and-away ties decided by goal aggregate, and the October and November matches will trim the field from 53 hopefuls to 20.

Among those expected to reach the third and final qualifying stage will be No. 1 ranked African national team Algeria and 2015 Africa Cup of Nations winners Cote d’ Ivoire.

FIFA used the July rankings to determine the seedings and the 26-team first round consists of teams placed 28 and lower.

You may also like: How Oshoala’s success ruined Nigeria at World Cup

First-round matches are scheduled to be staged between October 5 and 13 and another nine-day period — November 9-17 — have been set aside for the second round.

Teams reaching the third round will be split into five groups of four at a separate draw and the winners after six-matchday series go to Russia for the 2018 World Cup.

The best showings by Africa at the World Cup were Cameroon (1990), Senegal (2002) and Ghana (2010) reaching the quarter-finals.

Ripples… without borders, without fears

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now