Final blow to tenure elongation? APC sets up convention committee

Buhari meets Bisi Akande, Aregbesola over rift with Tinubu
By Editor

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted a 68-member National Convention Committee.

This development is coming ahead of the party’s elective convention which is to hold before June 2018.

The list was released Sunday by the party’s national secretariat and was signed by Osita Izunaso, the National Organising Secretary of the party.

According to the released list, Governor of Jigawa State, Abubakar Badaru, will chair the committee, while the Governor of Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu, will be his deputy.

Senator Ben Uwajomogu was named as member/Secretary.

Also listed as members of the committee are 10 state governors and some members of National Assembly, among others.

The governors are Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Aminu Masari (Katsina), Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe) and Ahmed El-Rufai (Kaduna).

Others are Simeon Lalong (Plateau), Bindo Jibrila (Adamawa), Yahaya Bello (Kogi ) and Godwin Obaseki (Edo).

A former president of the Senate, Senator Ken Nnamani, is also a member.

Read also: Considering that ‘wicked’ past leaders ruined Nigeria, ‘we’ve not done too badly’- Buhari

The senators in the committee are Ahmed Yerima, Adamu Aliero, Danjuma Goje, Abdullahi Adamu, George Akume, suspended Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, Andrew Uchendu, Abdullahi Danbaba, Baba Kuka and John Enoh.

Two serving ministers are also in the list. They are: Chris Ngige (Labour and Productivity) and Uguru Usani (Niger Delta).

The APC had resolved to hold a convention and congresses to elect new officials after President Muhammadu Buhari withdrew his support for tenure extension of the incumbent officials, a position he said was informed by his desire to protect the party from legal troubles.

Some have however speculated that the move was made to pacify the party’s national leader, Bola Tinubu, who had been in a running battle with the national chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, the major beneficiary of the earlier tenure extension.


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author


We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.