Connect with us


Four Zamfara Rep members defect to APC



Jibrin moved as Dogara reshuffles House committees’ leadership

The gale of defections in the National Assembly continues unabated as four lawmakers of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the House of Representatives announced their defection to the ruling All Progressives Congress.

This pronouncement was made public via a letter read during plenary on Tuesday.

The lawmakers are Bello Shinkafi, Ahmed Bakura, Ahmed Bungudu and Suleiman Gummi.

That makes it seven lawmakers that have left the PDP to the APC in the green chamber.

READ ALSO: Bill for creation of State Police passes second reading at House of Reps

According to the lawmakers, the ongoing crisis within the Zamfara PDP is the main rationale behind their decision to dump the party

The letter reads, “We the underlisted members wish to officially notify you of our defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressive Congress (APC) following the crisis of the PDP in Zamfara state which has consequently led to the dissolution of the state executive by the national body.”

The development comes about a week after Bello Matawalle, governor of Zamfara, also dumped the PDP for APC.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now