Nigeria Decides 2019 Politics

Gov. Abdula’ziz Yari declared winner of Zamfara West senatorial district

ZAMAFARA: Teacher mercilessly flogs student to death

Gov. Abdula’ziz Yari of Zamfara has joined the league of Governors heading to the senate as he has been declared winner of Zamfara West Senatorial election held on Saturday.

Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Lawal Mayanchi, who announced the results in Tatala-Mafara on Monday, said Yari of the All Progressive Congress (APC) polled 153,626 votes, while Alhaji Lawal Hassan of the PDP scored 69,293 votes.

Other political parties, who participated in the election, were Muhammad Lokoja of the National Rescue Movement (NRM) with 6,727 votes, Muhammad Rilwan of Peopes Party of Nigeria (PPN), who had 133 votes and Nasiru Anka of the Peoples Redemption Party who scored 555 votes.

Agency reports that a chieftain of the APC in the state, Alhaji Sha’ayau Sarkin-Fawa, described the victory as a welcome development.

READ ALSO: Former Sokoto governor Wamakko wins senatorial seat for APC

Sarkin-Fawa said Gov. Yari deserved to be a representative of the state in the Senate, considering the achievements recorded by his administration in the past eight years. He said that the victory was an indication that the people of Zamfara were with APC as a political party.

Gov. Yari has been elected to represent the district comprising of six local government areas of Anka, Bakura, Bukkuyum, Gummi, Maradun and Talata-Mafara.

Similarly, former governor of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamakko was declared winner of Sokoto North Senatorial District. Wamakko defeated the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ahmed Maccido with a total vote of 172,980 against Maccido’s 138,922.

Also, Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, emerged senator-elect of Ogun Central Senatorial district in Ogun state with 88,110 votes.

Amosun won with a margin of 51,009 votes as he had a total of 88,110 votes, as against the candidate with the second maximum votes, Titi Oseni of ADC, who had 37,101 votes.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */