Connect with us


Gov Makinde sends nominees for Oyo State electoral commission to Assembly



Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, has approved the composition of the state’s Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

According to a statement issued on Thursday by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Taiwo Adisa, the governor had in a letter to the House of Assembly, forwarded the names of eight individuals for consideration as chairman and members of the commission.

The letter which was dated 18 September, 2019, read: “I wish to inform Your Rt. Honourable and other Honourable Members of the composition of the State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

READ ALSO: NDLEA nabs 26 drug offenders, barons in Kwara

“The following personalities have been considered suitable, based on their track records, to oversee and conduct elections into the Local Governments in the State.”

According to the letter, Barr. Isiaka Olagunju was nominated as chairman of the commission, while Comrade Adeniyi Afeez Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr. Olanrewaju Emmanuel, Chief Kumi Agboola, Mr. Remi Ayoade, Mr. Sunday Falan and Mr. Adeojo Elias, were nominated as members.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now