Connect with us


Govs Wamakko, Kwankwaso off to Senate



Governors Aliyu Wamakko of Sokoto state and Rabi i’u Kwankwaso of Kano State, both of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have won the senatorial seat for Sokoto North and Kano Central Senatorial zones respectively.

Wamakko scored 225,642 to defeat the serving senator representing the zone on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ahmed Maccido, who scored 65,692 votes.

Kwankwaso on his part, won with a landslide, also aborting the dream of the incumbent Senator, Bashir Lado of the PDP who had sought re-election.

Kwankwaso scored 758, 383 votes to defeat Lado who got 205, 809 votes.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now