Latest Politics Top Stories

How 2 APC lawmakers lost seats to PDP candidates in Adamawa

BAYELSA GUBER: PDP downplays last minute defections from the party

Two All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers in Adamawa State have been sacked by the Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Yola, the state capital.

The tribunal sacked Shuaibu Langa who represented Mubi North in the Adamawa State Assembly and Musa Bororo, the member representing Mubi South Constituency.

Justice S. Akanbi sacked Langa on the premise of certificate forgery, ordering the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to issue a certificate of return to Suleiman Vokna of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Bororo’s election was also nullified for “bearing three inconsistent names.”

READ ALSO: ‘Judgment, not justice,’ Okorocha’s in-law, Nwosu, rejects tribunal’s judgment, heads for Appeal Court

The tribunal said he used three names, Musa Umar Bororo instead of “Musa Umar” which is the official name in the documents submitted to the INEC.

Bororo was taken to the tribunal by Musa Dirbishi of the PDP who the court subsequently declared winner.

Speaking to newsmen on the judgement, Langa said: “This is just too unbelievable. How on earth at this 21st century that somebody like me to not have finished primary school and I’m parading myself with a fake school leaving certificate? No! It is very very impossible.

“I want to believe that there was a problem somewhere that gave the court the reason to pronounce a judgement against the truth. But notwithstanding, in the court of appeal the truth shall be made known to all people,” he said.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */