Latest Politics

Imo Assembly deputy speaker resigns, 9 lawmakers defect to APC

Six months after, Imo Assembly recalls 5 suspended members

The Deputy Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Okey Onyekanma, on Monday resigned from his position.

Just as the deputy speaker resigned from the position, at least nine members of the Assembly defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

There are indications that more lawmakers will switch their loyalty from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the new ruling party in Imo State.

The defection started at 15:30 p.m. when the Speaker of the House, read the letters of the defecting lawmakers during the plenary.

READ ALSO: Buratai downplays renewed Boko Haram attacks, says they are ‘kicks of a dying horse

The lawmakers had publicly disclosed their support for Governor Hope Uzodinma shortly after his declaration as new governor of Imo State by the Supreme Court.

Uzodinma was sworn in last Thursday after the apex court quashed the victory of Emeka Ihedioha in last year’s governorship election in the state.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */