Connect with us


INEC declares APC’s Mohammed Bago winner of Niger governorship election



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Umar Mohammed Bago of the All Progressive Congress (APC) as the winner of the Governorship Election in Niger State.

The announcement was made by the Returning Officer, Professor Clement Allawa, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academics, University of Abuja, at the Headquarters of INEC

Read also:INEC declares Kebbi governorship election inconclusive

According to the Returning Officer, Bago amassed a total of 469,896, defeating his closest opponent, Isah Liman Kantigi of the People Democratic Party who scored 387,476.

Bago won in 20 Local Governments Areas out of the 25 while the candidate of the People Democratic Party won in 5 local governments of Mokwa, Munya, Edati, Lavun and Gbako.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now