Latest Politics

INSECURITY: UK issues travel advisory, warns its citizens against traveling to 16 Nigerian states

Brexit bill 'in limbo' as MPs reject timetable

The heightened state of insecurity in Nigeria following clashes between the Nigerian Police and members of the Islamic Movement of Nigeria (IMN) has forced the government of the United Kingdom to issue a travel advisory to its citizens resident in Nigeria.

The UK government in an updated travel advisory published on its website advised it’s citizens to avoid crowded places and specifically advised against traveling to Borno, Yobe, Adamawa and Gombe states.

READ ALSO: ‘Stop being petty’, Northern forum tells Southern, Middlebelt leaders

Other states listed by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office include; Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Bauchi, Zamfara, Kano State, Kaduna, Jigawa, Katsina and Kogi States.

According to the UK government, the updated travel advisory was issued because “terrorists are very likely to try to carry out attacks in Nigeria” adding that “attacks could be indiscriminate and could affect western interests as well as places visited by tourists”.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */