Connect with us


Gombe Assembly speaker impeached



Speaker of the Gombe State House of Assembly, Hon. Abubakar Sadiq Ibrahim was on Tuesday impeached.

He was immediately replaced with Hon Abubakar Mohammed as the new Speaker of the House.

Kurba was impeached by 16 out of the 24 members of the House, and the new Speaker, Hon. Luggerewol, representing Akko Central constituency, who was however, elected by 15 members was immediately sworn-in.

Read also: Gombe gov urges public officers to declare assets

The impeachment proceedings was presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Siddi Buba, representing Kwami West constituency.

During the same session, the leader of the House, Samuel Marcus representing Pero-Chonge was also impeached and replaced with Yarima Ladan Gaule of Kaltungo East constituency.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − 15 =