Latest Politics Top Stories

Kwara lawmakers refuse to swear-in PDP member-elect, deny him entry into chamber

Kwara lawmakers refuse to swear PDP member-elect in, deny him entry into chamber

The travails of a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) member-elect, Jimoh Agboola, in the hand of Kwara State House of Assembly, continued on Tuesday.

The state Assembly, dominated by the All Progressives Congress (APC) members, has refused to neither swear Agboola in, nor allow him entry into the Assembly chamber.

Two different court rulings had declared the PDP member-elect as winner of the March 9, House of Assembly election for Ilorin South constituency.

He defeated Abdulazeez Elewu, a member of the APC in court to emerge as Ilorin South constituency state Assembly member.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had since issued him his Certificate of return,

Despite the court rulings and his Certificate of Return, the House continued to refuse to inaugurate him. On the three occasions he was at the Assembly complex, he was denied entry on each occasion.

After he was denied entrance on Tuesday, his counsel, Oladipupo Aborishade, intervened.

READ ALSO: Reps begin probe of DSS’ ‘invasion’ of court to re-arrest Sowore

He demanded to know why the state lawmakers kept denying his client entry.

In its response, a member of the House, who spoke on behalf of the Speaker, Tayo Awodiji, said the reason they would not allow the PDP member-elect entry nor swear him in, was because the House was yet to receive an official communication from INEC.

He said Agboola should stop bordering himself about being granted access to the Assembly, or sworn in until INEC writes the House.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!