Connect with us


Lagos Assembly rejects three of Sanwo-Olu’s cabinet nominees



Sanwo-Olu swears in commissioners, special advisers, assign portfolios

Three nominees of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for the position of commissioners and special advisers were on Monday rejected by the Lagos State House of Assembly.

The nominees, Ms Adekemi Ajayi-Bembe, Mr. Obafemi George and Prince Olanrenwaju Sanusi were rejected during confirmation at plenary on Monday.

35 of the 38 nominees were, however, confirmed by the lawmakers after the report of the 16-man ad hoc screening committee was laid before the house by the chairman of the committee, Rotimi Abiru, who is also the Chief Whip of the house.

The confirmed nominees are Mr Tunji Bello, Mr Gbolahan Lawal, Dr Wale Ahmed, Mrs Lola Akande, Prince Olanrewaju Elegushi, Mr Hakeem Fahm, Mrs Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Mr Afolabi Ayantayo and Mr Samuel Egube.

Others are Mrs Bolaji Dada, Mr Moruf Akinderu-Fatai, Mr Olusegun Dawodu, Mrs Solape Hammond, Arch. Kabiru Abdullahi, Mr Olalere Odusote and Mr Aramide Adeyoye.

READ ALSO: SANI TO BUHARI: Many are with you only because you’re in power

Dr Frederick Oladeinde, Mr Olatunbosun Alake, Mr Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN), Prof. Akin Abayomi, Dr Rabiu Olowo, Dr Idris Salako, Mr Bonu Solomon Saanu, Mrs Folashade Adefisayo, and Mr Oluwatoyin Fayinka were also confirmed.

Others include Princess Aderemi Adebowale, Mrs Shulamite Adebolu, Mrs Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Mr Adetokunbo Wahab, Mrs Ajibola Ponnle, Mrs Yetunde Arobieke, Ms Ruth Olusanya, Mr Gbenga Omotoso, Mr Oladele Ajayi and Mr Joe Igbokwe.

The Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, invited each of the nominees for a brief introduction before their confirmation.

After a voice vote on each nominee by the speaker, the house confirmed 35 out of the 38 nominees as commissioners and special advisers-designate.

Obasa said: “In pursuant to the Section 192 subsection 2 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the House now confirms the appointment of the following governor’s nominees.”

He thereafter directed the Clerk of the House, Mr Sanni Azeez, to forward the list of the confirmed nominees to Gov. Sanwo-Olu, adding that the governor is at liberty to re-nominate those rejected by the assembly.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

If you are motivated and passionate about building a global society, founded on justice, equity, fairness, transparency, accountability and superior knowledge, kindly consider donating to Ripples Nigeria’s solutions journalism.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now