Connect with us


Like PDP in Adamawa, APC sweeps Katsina local council election



The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner of the Katsina State local council election held on Monday.

The Executive Secretary of the state’s Independent Electoral Commission (KASIEC), Lawal Faskari, who announced the results of the election early on Tuesday, said the APC won in 31 local councils so far declared by the commission while the results of Daura and Funtua LGAs were pending.

He added that the election in Dutsin-ma LGA was stopped over alleged irregularities.

Faskari said: “The commission has so far received complete results from 31 Local Government Areas, 328 Wards, awaiting that of Funtua and Daura while election in Dutsinma LGA has been cancelled over widespread irregularities.

Read also: APC rejects results of Adamawa local council election

“The commission, therefore, wishes to further announce that the All Progressives Congress, has won all the 31 Chairmanships and 328 Councilorships seats so far collated.

“Consequently, the commission seized this opportunity to congratulate the winners of the elections and commend the political parties over the high level maturity and sportsmanship exhibited by their candidates during and after the exercise.”

The development came just 72 hours after the PDP won all the 21 chairmanship seats in the Adamawa State local council election.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

20 + 4 =