Messi, Ronaldo, Hazard nominated for FIFPro world XI

Messi, Ronaldo, Hazard nominated for FIFPro world XI

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard were included in a 55-man FIFPro World11 shortlist announced by FIFA on Wednesday.

The FIFPro World 11 is an all-star world XI compiled every year.

The world football governing body explained on their website that the shortlist was arrived at from the selection of over 24,000 professional footballers from across the globe.

The selection was, however, based on players’ performances from the 2016/17 season.

The final FIFA FIFPro World XI, which will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London on 23 October, will be made up of one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders, and three forwards.

Other players on the list include Gianluigi Buffon, David De Gea, David Luiz, Paul Pogba, Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Antonio Valencia, Philipp Lahm, Dani Alves among others.

Read Also: Jesus, Dembele, Mbappe, 22 others up for Euro Golden Boy award

Here is the full FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist:

Goalkeepers (5):

Gianluigi Buffon (ITA/Juventus), David De Gea (ESP/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (CRC/Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (GER/Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (SVN/Atletico Madrid)

Defenders (20):

David Alaba (AUT/Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (ESP/FC Barcelona), Dani Alves (BRA/Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Jerome Boateng (GER/Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonucci (ITA/Juventus/AC Milan), Dani Carvajal (ESP/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (ITA/Juventus), Diego Godin (URU/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (GER/Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (GER/Bayern Munich), David Luiz (BRA/Chelsea), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (ARG/Barcelona), Pepe (POR/Real Madrid/Besiktas), Gerard Pique (ESP/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (BRA/Paris Saint-Germain), Samuel Umtiti (FRA/FC Barcelona), Antonio Valencia (ECU/Manchester United), Raphael Varane (FRA/Real Madrid)

Midfielders (15):

Thiago Alcantara (ESP/Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (ESP/FC Barcelona), Casemiro (BRA/Real Madrid), Philippe Coutinho (BRA/Liverpool), Eden Hazard (BEL/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (ESP/FC Barcelona), Isco(ESP/Real Madrid), N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea), Toni Kroos (GER/Real Madrid), Nemanja Matic(SRB/Chelsea/Manchester United), Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (GER/Arsenal), Paul Pogba(FRA/Manchester United), Marco Verratti (ITA/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (CHI/Bayern Munich)

Strikers (15):

Gareth Bale (WAL/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani (URU/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (ARG/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Atletico Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE/Manchester United), Harry Kane (ENG/Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski(POL/Bayern Munich), Romelu Lukaku (BEL/Everton/Manchester United), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Monaco/Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Neymar (BRA/FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain), Alexis Sanchez(CHI/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (URU/FC Barcelona)

The final FIFA FIFPro World11 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London on 23 October.

During the ceremony The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Women’s Player, The Best FIFA Goalkeeper, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach, The FIFA Puskás Award, The FIFA Fan Award and The FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented.

FIFA will announce the final nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards on Friday.


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!