Modric wins the Ballon d’Or, Hegerberg bags historic women’s title; Mbappe voted best u-21

Luka Modric and Ada Hegerberg

Croatia and Real Madrid star, Luka Modric won the 2018 Ballon d’Or, adding to the FIFA Best award and UEFA Player of the Year awards he already won.

The award, organized annually by French football magazine, was held in Paris on Monday night, and hosted by ex-Newcastle winger David Ginola.

Modric, who captained his national team to the final of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, becomes the first ever Croatian to win the title.

The 33-year-old, who also helped Real win their third consecutive UEFA Champions League title in May, is the first player to win the Ballon d’Or asides Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi since 2008.

Former Brazil and AC Milan forward Kaka, in 2007, was the last player other than Messi or Ronaldo to win it.

Ronaldo came second to Modric, followed by World Cup winners Antoine Griezmann and Kylian Mbappe in third and forth, before Messi in fifth spot.

Read Also: Decision to strip Cameroon of AFCON hosting rights ‘unfair’

Also at the awards, 23-year-old Ada Hegerberg was crowned the winner of the first ever Women’s Ballon d’Or.

The Olympique Lyon and Norway striker helped the French club Lyon to the UEFA Champions League title this season.

She’s only 23 and now won three Champions League crowns, four French championships and three French Cup titles.

For the Kopa award for best under 21, France and Paris Saint Germain forward, Mbappe, was crowned winner, beating off competitions from Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold and Dortmund’s Christian Pulisic.

Kylian Mbappe

The Kopa award was also first of its kind, and the winner was selected by former Ballon d’Or winners.


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana