Connect with us


#NEPOTISM: Okorocha damns critics again, swears in sister as Happiness Commissioner



LG POLLS: Is Okorocha daring the law for political survival?

Governor Rochas Okorocha, who constantly has been accused of nepotism, on Monday commissioned his sister, Mrs. Ogechi Ololo (nee Okorocha), as Imo State Commissioner for Happiness and Couples’ Fulfillment.

She was among the 28 new commissioners who were sworn in by the governor on Monday. Also commissioned were 27 Transition Committee (TC) chairmen for the 27 local government councils in the state.

Ololo, said to be a biological sister to the governor is married to one Chuks, an engineer. She was the All Progressives Congress’ candidate into the House of Representatives for the Owerri Federal Constituency seat in 2015 and had served in various capacities since the emergence of her brother as Imo State governor in 2011.

Before her latest appointment, she had served as Okorocha’s deputy Chief of Staff and Special Adviser on Domestic Matters.

At the event which took place at the Imo International Convention Centre, Owerri, the governor called on the new appointees to ensure they leave marks in their respective ministries and local governments.

“You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves. I want to remind all of you that this appointment is not business as usual. We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type. Neither shall we accept indolence or laziness. You have been called to duty to help us to achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project.

Read Also : IMO: Assembly crisis deepens, budget face-off persists, as Speaker debunks suspension of Assembly clerk

“At this moment, I charge you all to be good ambassadors of the Rescue Mission wherever you find yourselves. To the Transition Committee Chairmen, you must ensure that ongoing projects must be completed especially the schools, chapels etc,” the governor said.

The commissioners sworn in and their portfolios are: Prof. Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information); Lady Ugochi Nnana-Okoro (Agric and Food Security); Gertrude Oduka (Primary and Secondary Education); Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs); Uchendu Mark (Public Utilities); and Gerald Okolie (Rural Development).

Others are Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism); Emmanuel Ojinere (Trade and Investment); Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport); Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development); Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender and Social Development); Chief Josephine Udoji (Works); Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources and Pension Matters); Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education); Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour); and Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget and Statistics).

The Transition Committee Chairmen sworn in include Okechukwu Onyechere (Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre).

Recall that Okorocha’s Chief of Staff, Uche Nwosu, is married to his daughter, while the wife Nneoma Nkechi Okorocha, is the chairman of the state Amnesty Committee.



RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now