Nigeria Decides 2019 Politics

NIGER STATE: APC’s Abubakar Bello wins re-election


Niger state Governor, Abubakar Sani Bello, has emerged winner of the March 9 governorship election held in the state.

Sani Bello of the All Progressive Congress (APC) defeated his main contender in the race, Umar Nasko of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with 228,347 votes to win his reelection bid.

The Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC) Returning Officer for Niger state, Professor Angela Freeman Miri, declared that the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate polled 526,412 votes while PDP got 298,065 votes.

READ ALSO: JIGAWA GUBER: APC’s Badaru wins re-election

“Having polled the highest votes, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is declared the winner of the election and so returned elected,” she declared.

See details of the final result below.

Total number Registered Voters in the state is 2,377,034. 925,518 were accredited for voting while the state recorded a total Valid Votes of 900,871.

19,609 were Rejected Votes from the 920,480 Vote Cast.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */