Edo Decides 2020 Latest Politics

Obaseki floors Ize-Iyamu in Oyegun’s polling unit

The Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, has won the election in the polling unit of a former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.

Obaseki, who is the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, scored 109 votes to defeat his APC challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, who garnered 40 votes in the polling unit.

READ ALSO: Obaseki faults INEC preparation for Edo election

The governor’s success in the polling unit did not come as a surprise as the ex-APC chieftain had declared that he would not support his party’s candidate in the build-up to the election.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */