Connect with us


Osaka wins fourth Grand Slam title after beating Brady in Australian Open final



Naomi Osaka has emerged women’s singles champion of the 2021 Australian Open after beating Jennifer Brady in the final on Saturday.

The 23-year-old Japanese, who won her first-ever Grand Slam in 2018, is already a four-time major champion, remaining unbeaten in all major finals she has participated in.

Osaka defeated Serena Williams in the last-four on Thursday, defeated another American Brady in today’s final, cruising to a 6-4 6-3 win in Melbourne.

Naomi Osaka at Melbourne 2021

Read Also: Osaka says self-reflection during quarantine helped her win US Open

Osaka has now won two Australian Open titles having also triumphed at Melbourne Park in 2019, with her other Grand Slam successes coming at the US Open in 2018 and 2020.

She has not suffered a defeat since February 2020 after winning her past 20 matches, as she sees off Brady in front of 7,477 fans at the Rod Laver Arena.

The match was a repeat of their US Open semifinal clash, which Osaka also won, and going on to win the title that year.

“Jennifer, I want to congratulate you. After we’d played at the US Open I told everyone you’d be a problem, and I was right. To see your growth over the last few months is really cool,” Osaka said after victory.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

If you are motivated and passionate about building a global society, founded on justice, equity, fairness, transparency, accountability and superior knowledge, kindly consider donating to Ripples Nigeria’s solutions journalism.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now