Connect with us


Police promote 8,232 officers



Police promote 8,232 officers

The Police Service commission has approved the promotion of 239 senior officers, 7981 inspectors, 2 Assistant Inspectors General and 10 Deputy Commissioners of police.

The news of their promotion was conveyed through a statement by the head of public relations of the police, Ikechukwu Ani.

The promotion was part of the decisions of the Second Plenary Meeting of the Commission held in Wudil, Kano and presided over by the Commission’s Chairman, Alhaji Musiliu Smith.

CP. Peter Babatunde Ogunyawo and CP. Mohammed L. Hussein were promoted AIGs.

Read also: BOKO HARAM: 12 Tucano aircraft Buhari’s govt paid for to be delivered in 2024

Those promoted to Deputy Commissioner of Police (DSP) are Eusuong P. James, Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji, Abdullahi Shehu, Ajala Elija Ayoola, Ohikere S. Idris, Alfa S. Jibrin, Romokere God’sGift Ibiani, francis A. Bissong, Akika A. Augustine and Peter W. Wagbara.

The Commission also ratified the promotion of seven thousand nine hundred and eighty one Inspectors, products of the last Departmental Selection Board, DSB, to the next rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police.

The commission has, in a letter signed by the permanent secretary of the commission, Musa Istifanus,conveyed the approval of the promotion of the 239 senior officers and ratification of the 7981 inspectors to ASPs to the Inspector General of Police for implementation.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now