R-APC Galadima fights on, writes INEC to nullify Oshiomhole-led APC NEC
Connect with us


R-APC Galadima fights on, writes INEC to nullify Oshiomhole-led APC NEC



Galadima And The Reformed APC

Despite splitting the All Progressives Congress (APC) by creating the Reformed All Progressives Congress (R-APC), Buba Galadima seems not to be satisfied in his fight against the ruling party.

The R-APC national chairman has written to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), asking it to nullify the “purported election” of the Adams Oshiomole-led National Executive Committee (NEC) of the APC.

In a letter to the commission, dated July 4, Galadima claimed that the APC nationwide congresses leading up to its national convention were marred with serious irregularities and manipulations.

Galadima’s letter was entitled “Request to invalidate the purported election of national officers of the APC and not to recognise them” and directed to INEC chairman.

The letter read partly, “I write as a foundation member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), a member of its Board of Trustees, National Caucus and an automatic delegate at its National Convention, to bring to your notice that on 23rd June, 2018, the All Progressive Congress (APC) purportedly held a very flawed and undemocratic Convention for the purpose of electing its National Officers following the disputed Congresses held in various Wards (May 2, 2018), Local Governments (May 5, 2018), State Congress (May 8, 2018).

“These Congresses leading up to the National Convention of the party were marred with serious irregularities and manipulations to the extent that in at least 22 States, parallel Congresses were held and different set of delegates and officers emerged. Some of the States includes: Abia, Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Cross-River, Delta, Enugu, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Ondo, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto and Zamfara.

“You should please access the Report of your offices in these States for confirmation.

“In particular the ‘election’ of the following officers of the party was in direct contravention of Article 20(1) of the APC Constitution, which says: ‘Unless otherwise provided for: All party posts prescribed or implied by this Constitution shall be filled by democratically conducted elections at the respective National Convention or Congress subject, where possible, to consensus, Provided that where a Candidate has emerged by consensus for an elective position, a vote of ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ by ballot or voice shall be called, to ensure that it was not an imposition which could breed discontent and crisis’.

“The officers affected include: National Chairman – Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, National Welfare Secretary – Alhaji Ibrahim Masari, National Financial Secretary – Alhaji Tunde Bello, National Physically Challenged – by Misbahu L. Didi, Zonal Secretary North-Central – Dr. Zakari Muhammed, Zonal Organising Secretary North-Central – Ibrahim M. Abdul, Zonal Women Leader North-Central – Hajia Hassana Abdullahi, Ex-Officio North-Central – Nelson Abba, Zonal Secretary North-East – Abubakar Sadiq Ajia, Ex-Officio North-East – Mallam Isah Azare.

READ ALSO: EKITI: Democracy under attack in Nigeria, PDP cries out

“Others are Zonal Secretary North-West – Tukur A. Gusau, Zonal Organizing Secretary North-West – Abdulmunab Muhammad, Ex-Officio, North-West – Nasiru Haladu Danu, Zonal Woman Leader South-South – Mrs. Rachael Akpabio, Ex-Officio, South-South – Kotenten Ibadan, Zonal Secretary South-West – Ayo Afolabi, Zonal Women Leader South-West – Mrs. Kemi Nelson, Ex-Officio South-West – Omoloye O. Akintola.

“Furthermore, in the course of the Convention proceedings, many other persons purportedly withdrew from the contest for the various offices, and the Convention Chairman announced them as unopposed and ‘elected’ without following any form of due process. This affected the position of the National Secretary and others.

“What transpired was that the Chairman of the Convention, His Excellency, Alhaji Mohammed Badaru Abubakar flagrantly usurped the powers of the delegates and declared 18 officers elected without following the laid down criteria.”


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation




Latest Tech News