Connect with us


Rejected bills by Buhari in 2019 totals 13 as he turns another 5 down



You are on your own! Presidency tells APC leaders Buhari will not interfere in rerun elections

Bills from the National Assembly rejected by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2019 alone rose to 13 on Tuesday following his rejection of five more bills transmitted to him by the lawmakers.

The bills Buhari rejected are Nigerian Film Commission bill, Immigration Amendment bill 2018, Climate Change bill 2018, Chartered Institute of Pension Practitioners bill 2018 and Digital Rights and Freedom bill.

The rejection of the bills was communicated to the lawmakers in a letter from Buhari that was read out to them during Wednesday plenary.

The President said he refused to assent to the bills as they would conflict and duplicate duties of existing government agencies, their destructive nature, as well as lack of clarity.

READ ALSO: Like Reps, Senate adjourns plenary to April 2 over budget defence

He had a day ago also rejected two bills passed by the lawmakers.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now