Connect with us

Nigeria In One Minute

Reps set up committee to screen new service chiefs



The House of Representatives has set up a 40-member joint committee to screen the new Service Chiefs.

The Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, announced this at Wednesday’s plenary.

President Muhammadu Buhari appointed the new service chiefs on January 26.

He had also forwarded the names to the National Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The new service chiefs are – Maj.-Gen. Lucky lrabor (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj.-Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Adm. Awwal Zubairu Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff) and AVM Isiaka O. Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

READ ALSO: President Buhari writes Senate to confirm appointment of Service Chiefs

The speaker said members of the committee included chairmen and deputy chairmen of the House’s Standing Committees on Defence, Nigerian Army, Nigerian Air Force and Nigerian Navy.

The former service chiefs – Lt. Gen Abayomi Olonisakin, Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai, Air Marshall Sadique Abubakar and Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas retired from service on January 26.

The President had since nominated the quartet for ambassadorial positions.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now