Latest Politics

Rivers Assembly confirms members of electoral commission ahead of LGA election

The Rivers State House of Assembly on Friday confirmed eight nominees as chairman and commissioners of the Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission (RSIEC) ahead of the local government election in the state.

The House screened the nominees following a letter from Governor Nyesom Wike requesting the screening and confirmation of the individuals into RSIEC.

Those confirmed by the Assembly were Justice George Omereji who is the chairman, Mrs. Doris Chuka, Mrs. Chioma Ochia and Prof. Hope Gilbert.

READ ALSO: Again, Rivers Assembly approves N6.5bn loan for Wike

Others were – Mr. Barine Nwikinanee, Dr. Solomon Egbe and Dr. Iyeneone Tamunobenetonari.

The Speaker of the House, Mr. Ikunyi-Owaji Ibani, advised the commissioners-designate to ensure effective service delivery to the people of the state.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */