Rohr invites 23 Eagles to play for AFCON ticket against S'Africa | Ripples Nigeria
Connect with us


Rohr invites 23 Eagles to play for AFCON ticket against S’Africa



Gernot Rohr

Ahead of the crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against South Africa, Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has invited 23 players.

Nigeria are at the top of Group E, having earned 9 points from 4 games, and are just one win away from sealing their spot at the Cameroon tournament.

They face second-placed South Africa at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on Saturday, 17th November in Matchday 5 of the qualifiers.

The Eagles will be looking to revenge the 2-0 defeat they suffered from the South Africans in Uyo last year at the opening match of the qualifying race.

And they would after the game travel back to Asaba where they will face the Cranes of Uganda in an international friendly on 20th November.

Meanwhile, all the invited players are expected to report in Asaba on Monday, 12th November.

Read Also: Ex-Real Madrid star, Campo pleads with club to give Lopetegui the season


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC Ifeanyi Ubah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany).

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal FC, Portugal).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain).

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars FC); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba FC); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars FC).


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation