Latest Politics Top Stories

Sanwo-Olu reshuffles cabinet, assigns portfolios to new members


Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Thursday carried out a minor cabinet reshuffle and appointed three new members into the state executive council.

Eight ministries, according to a statement issued by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Gboyega Akosile, were affected in the exercise.

The ministries were the Local Government, Special Duties, Wealth Creation and Employment, Tourism, Arts and Culture, Home Affairs as well as Waterfront Infrastructure.

Others were the Central Business District and Urban Development.

Three commissioners were redeployed while two Special Advisers were upgraded to commissioners.

The statement read: “The affected commissioners and their new portfolios are – Commissioner for Special Duties, Dr. Wale Ahmed, who has now been moved to Local Government and Community Affairs; Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke, formerly Commissioner for Local Government and Community Affairs has been moved to the Ministry of Wealth Creation and Employment.

“Also, Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf has been moved from the Ministry of Home Affairs to the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture as Commissioner.

READ ALSO: Okorocha reacts to Uzodinma’s move to probe him, others

“Two former Special Advisers, Prince Anofiu Elegushi and Arch. Kabiru Ahmed are now assigned to the Ministries of Home Affairs and Waterfront Infrastructure as Honourable Commissioners respectively.

The Governor, according to Akosile, also announced portfolios of the new cabinet members.

“They are Mr. Tayo Bamgbose-Martins, Commissioner-designate (Special Duties), Mr. Oyerinde Olugbenga Olanrewaju, Special Adviser-designate (Central Business District) and Mr. Ayuba Ganiu Adele, Special Adviser-designate (Urban Development),” the statement added.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */