Connect with us


Senate confirms 15 for NDDC board, speaks on ‘bad image’ of commission



Senate worried, proposes summit on security in Nigeria

The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday confirmed 15 people for the governing board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) out of the 16 nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Senate Screening Committee chairman, Peter Nwaoboshi said the nominee who was not confirmed was Dr Joy Yimebe Nunieh.

He said she was not confirmed because she failed to appear before the screening committee and did not reveal reasons for her inability to offer herself for screening.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan called on the confirmed board members to ensure they “redeem the bad image of NDDC”.

He assured that the Senate would do a thorough oversight of NDDC henceforth.

Earlier, Nwaoboshi had told the Senate in his report for purposes of confirmation that the nominees were screened and found capable to serve on the board.

He said that the committee got credentials and security report of each nominee for purposes of screening.

Senate minority leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe said the nominee representing Delta State seemed to be the person who was sworn in as the chairman of Steering Committee.

He urged the Senate to avoid being dragged into illegality.

In his contribution, former Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu observed that the interim management committee of NDDC was a sabotage.

Noting that the National Assembly only approves board membership for few agencies, he said the timely confirmation would make the executive to do the needful.

Hd cautioned that “interim committee should not be set up in future again where the law stipulated Senate’s confirmation of board members.”

READ ALSO: ASO ROCK WATCH: Buhari’s S’Court walkover and London holidays; 2 other things we tracked past week

The nominees confirmed are:

1. Dr Pius Odubu – Edo Chairman
2. Bernard O. Okumagba Delta – MD
3. Engr. Otobong Ndem – Akwa Ibom – Ex. Director
4. Maxwell Oko – Bayelsa – Ex. Director
5. Prophet Jones Erue – Delta – Delta Rep.
6. Chief Victor Ekhator – Edo – Edo Rep.
7. Nwogu N. Nwogu – Abia – Abia Rep.
8. Theodore A. Allison – Bayelsa – Bayelsa Rep
9. Victor Antai – Akwa-Ibom – Akwa Ibom Rep.
10. Maurice Efiwatt – Cross River – C/R Rep
11. Olugbenga Edema – Ondo – Ondo Rep.
12. Uche Chidiebere Kyrian – Imo – Imo Rep.
13. Aisha Murtala Mohammed – Kano – N/W
14. Shuaibu Ardo Zubairu – Adamawa – N/E
15. Amb. Abdullahi M. Bage – N/C

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now