Connect with us


Senate rejects Buhari’s nominees for NDDC 



Senate rejects Buhari's nominees for NDDC 
The Senate on Tuesday rejected some names sent to it by the executive for appointment into the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).
Those affected were Olatokunbo Ajasin (Ondo), Donatus Eyinnah (Abia) and Igo Weli (Niger Delta).
They were rejected on the grounds that their nomination breached the NDDC Act which stipulated that only persons from oil producing communities could be appointed to such positions.
The Senate however confirmed Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba as Chairman of the NDDC. It equally confirmed the nomination of Nsima Udo Ekere as its Managing Director.

Senator Eyinnaya Abaribe during the debate on the report of the Senate Committee on NDDC, pointed out that Section 2(1)(b) of the NDDC Act stipulated that nominees for the board of the Commission must be from communities where oil is produced.

Read also: NOT GUILTY! Reps say of members accused of sexual misconduct

Another nominee from Imo state, Senator Osita Izunaso, had written the Senate Committee to voluntarily reject his nomination on similar ground.

An argument by Senator Sola Adeyeye (Osun) that the Act did not make it mandatory for nominees to come from oil bearing communities, but from oil producing states was shot down by majority of members.

Chairman of the Senate Committee on NDDC, Senator Peter Nwaoboshi informed the Senate that in the case of Ajasin, people from the Ilaje area of Ondo state, had stormed the screening venue in eleven fully loaded commuter buses protesting his nomination.

Two other nominees, Mahmoud Isa-Dutse and Abdul-Kazeem Bayero from the Federal Ministry of Finance and Federal Ministry of Environment were also confirmed.

But the two would cease to be members of the NDDC board whenever they are transferred from their present ministries to other MDAs.

Other nominees confirmed are: Adjogbe Ajenakevwe Samuel, Mene Ienyie Derek, Frank Samuel George, Brambaifa Nelson and Sylvester Effefiom Nsa.

Others are Ogaga Ifowodo, Uwuilekhue Saturday, Harry Iboroma Dabibi, Benard Banfa, Yahaya Mohammed and Mustapha Dankadai.

RipplesNigeria …without borders, without fears

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now