Connect with us


Three more senators dump APC



Three Senators elected on platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have resigned their membership of the ruling party.

The senators – Ahmad Babba Kaita (Katsina North), Lawal Gumau (Bauchi South) and Francis Alimikhena (Edo North) confirmed the exit from the party in separate letters read by the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, at Tuesday’s plenary.

While Kaita and Alimikhena had joined the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Gumau moved to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

READ ALSO: After exiting APC over failure to secure senatorial ticket, Shina Peller joins Accord Party

The development came just two weeks after the former Senate Majority Leader, Yayaha Abdullahi, dumped the party for the PDP.

The defection of the lawmakers brought down the number of APC senators in the upper legislative chamber from 70 to 67.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now