UK Prime minister’s Brexit deal defeated as MPs set to vote no-deal on exit from EU

UK PM May faces contempt charges over failure to publish Brexit legal advise
By Editor

Members of Parliament are set to vote later on March 29 to decide whether to block the UK from leaving the EU without a deal after again rejecting the Prime Minister, Theresa May’s withdrawal agreement.

However, EU leaders have expressed disappointment after MPs voted by 391 to 242 votes to reject Mrs May’s deal. The deal was defeated in the Commons on Tuesday evening by 149 votes.

Read also: Elections postponed as Algerians celebrate President Bouteflika’s withdrawal

Meanwhile, the UK government has stated it will bring in new measures to avoid a hard border in Northern Ireland in a no-deal situation to reduce tariffs on imports from outside the EU.

The government also announced it will not introduce any new checks or controls, or involve customs declarations for any goods moving from across the border from Ireland to Northern Ireland if the UK leaves the EU without a deal.

Speaking after the defeat Theresa May said:

“I continue to believe that by far the best outcome is the UK leaves the European Union in an orderly fashion with a deal and that the deal we have negotiated is the best and indeed only deal available.”

Mrs May added that MPs would have to choose if they want intend to delay Brexit or hold another referendum.

Join the conversation


About the author


We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.