UTME 2019: JAMB suspends 49 CBT centres, accuses private universities of sabotage

NANS gives JAMB 48 hours to refund N50 SMS charge to UTME candidates or...

The Joint Admission and Matriculations Board (JAMB) said it has suspended 49 Computer-Based Test (CBT) centres for various irregularities in the ongoing 2019 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME)

The board also accused some private universities of aiding academic corruption and decadence in the country.

The board’s Registrar, Prof. Is-haq Oloyede, lamented the sabotage by private universities during the opening ceremony of a two-day summit on Nigerian private universities organised by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in Abuja on Monday.

While making remarks at the summit themed, “Private University Education Delivery in Nigeria; Challenges and Opportunities,” Oloyede said, “The government opened up the space a few years ago for private operators to come and complement government’s efforts at providing university education to Nigerians, but it seems like the aim is gradually being defeated.

“When you visit some private universities, you will be ashamed for Nigeria. From the structures, you will know that something is wrong. If you take a deeper look, you will discover more decadence and rot in their operations. Some of the proprietors choose to run the universities like a family business and it ought not to be so.”

Read also: JAMB debunks claims of invigilators barring students wearing hijab from exam halls

Meanwhile, the board in its weekly bulletin released on Monday said 49 CBT centers were suspending over examination malpractices.

Five centres were suspended in Abia State and another four in Anambra State for technical deficiencies and inadequate number of computers.

One CBT centre was suspended in Bayelsa, three in Borno, two in Cross River and one in Akwa-Ibom for inadequate preparations.

Ten centres were suspended in the Federal Capital Territory; one in Plateau State, two in Lagos, four in Edo State, six in Nasarawa State, two in Oyo State and one each in Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Benue, Delta, Ebonyi, Ekiti and Rivers states.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!