YOBE: APC’s Mirwa, Bello emerge as speaker, deputy speaker unopposed

The pair of Hon Ahmed Lawan Mirwa and Hon Auwalu Isa Bello, both of the All Progressive Congress (APC), have emerged as Speaker and Deputy spSpeaker of the seventh assembly in Yobe State unopposed.

The pair who were elected by the 24 members of Yobe State House of Assembly have accepted the outcome of the polls and promised to work in the interest of the party and the good people of Yobe state.

Read also: NASS LEADERSHIP ELECTION: PDP angry at members’ rebellion, vows to probe their votes

The Clerk of the House, Ishaiku Mohammed, conducted a roll call and ensured the presence of all the 24 members in the house chamber before the election commenced.

“Having conducted the roll call and the number had formed a quorum, the election should commence”, the clerk said.

Mirwa and Bello, who both represent Nguru II and Mamudo constituencies respectively, were sworn in before the Yobe State House of Assembly was fully inaugurated.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!